Basketball superstar

On this day – February 17, 1963: basketball superstar Michael Jordan is born


1968: Frenchman Jean-Claude Killy, one of the greatest skiers of all time, wins his third gold medal at the Olympic Winter Games in Grenoble. Victorious in downhill, giant slalom and slalom, he equaled Toni Sailer’s record by winning three gold medals in a single Games.

1993: David Platt scored four goals in England’s World Cup qualifying loss to San Marino and awarded a penalty that would have given him a share in England’s record five.

1999: Fulham boss Kevin Keegan agrees to take charge of the England team for four games. He eventually became a permanent manager.

2008: Andy Murray wins his fifth ATP Tour title, beating Croatia’s Mario Ancic 6-3 6-4 in the Open 13 final in Marseille.

2010: Wakefield Wildcats announced the provisional suspension of Terry Newton by the British Anti-Doping Agency after failing a doping test in November 2009. Newton was found hanged at his home in September 2010.

2012: Portsmouth was brought under administration for the second time in two years. The South Coast club left administration in April 2013 and announced it was debt free in September 2014, 18 months after taking over the Pompey Supporters’ Trust.

2012: Mervyn Westfield, the first England County cricketer to be prosecuted for one-off rigging, was sentenced to four months in prison.

2014: Sam Burgess, the UK and England rugby union international, has agreed to join the Aviva Premiership team, Bath, on a three-year contract.


Roy Essendoah (football) – former footballer from Northern Ireland, born 1976.

Michael Jordan (basketball) – The American superstar is widely regarded as the sport’s greatest player, born in 1963.

Tony Underwood (rugby union) – former England winger, born 1969.

Goran Bunjevcevic (football) – former Tottenham defender, born 1973.

Julian Golding (athletics) – Former British Commonwealth champion over 200 meters, born 1975.

Adriano (football) – Former Brazil, Inter Milan and Roma forward, now at Miami United, born in 1982.

AB de Villiers (cricket) – South African batsman, fastest ODI scorer of the century of all time, born 1984.

Joey O’Brien (football) – Defender for West Ham, born 1986.

Rebecca Adlington (swimming) – Double British gold medalist at the Beijing Olympics, born in 1989.

Marc Marquez (motorcycling) – The two-time Spanish winner of the MotoGP World Championship, born in 1993.



GAA: Allianz Leagues Extra – A summary of all the actions of the week from the National Football League and the National Hurling League – Setanta 2145.

FOOTBALL: Champions League, Ghent against Wolfsburg – BT Sport 2 1900; Primera Division, Sporting Gijon v Barcelona – Sky Sports 2 1725.

TENNIS: ATP Rio Open – Sky Sports 1 1900; WTA Dubai Tennis Championship – BT Sport 1 1000, 1500.

SNOOKER: Welsh Open – Eurosport 1 1030, 1430, 1900 & BBC Two Wales 1305, 1900.

GOLF: Maybank Championship Malaysia – Sky Sports 4 0400 (game).

CYCLING: Tour of Andalusia – Eurosport 2 1430.


SOCCER: Europa League, Midtjylland v Manchester United – BT Sport 2 1730, Fiorentina v Tottenham – BT Sport Europe 1800, Augsburg v Liverpool – BT Sport Europe 2000, Valencia v Rapid Vienna – BT Sport 2 2030.

TENNIS: ATP Rio Open – Sky Sports 3 1900; WTA Dubai Tennis Championship – BT Sport 1 1000, 1500.

SNOOKER: Welsh Open – Eurosport 1 1030, 1430, 1900 & BBC Two Wales 1305, 1900.

GOLF: European Tour, Maybank Championship Malaysia – Sky Sports 4 0600 (thu) & 0400 (fri); PGA Tour, Northern Trust Open – Sky Sports 4 2200.

BASKETBALL: NBA, Cleveland Cavaliers v Chicago Bulls – BT Sport 1 0100 (Fri); Los Angeles Clippers v San Antonio Spurs – BT Sport 1 0330 (Fri).

CYCLING: Tour of Andalusia – Eurosport 2 1430.

DARTS: Premier League Darts – Sky Sports 1 1900.


1 Who was the first All-Star for Tyrone?

2 Which tennis player holds the world record for the fastest serve?

3 Who was Manchester United manager just before Sir Alex Ferguson?

4 Which of the golf majors did Rory McIlroy win first?

5 Name the first country to win the Liam McCarthy Cup in the playoffs?

Answers: 1 Kevin McCabe 2 Sam Groth (163.4 mph); 3 Ron Atkinson; 4 US Open (2011); 5 Offaly (1998)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *